ICMI Awards

The Executive Committee of the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) has created three awards in mathematics education research:

   The Felix Klein Award, for a lifelong achievement in mathematics education research

    2017 Felix Klein Award: Prof. Deborah Loewenberg Ball (Female)

    The William H. Payne Collegiate Professor in Education and an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, US.  

    2019 Felix Klein Award: Prof. Tommy Dreyfus (Male)

    Professor Emeritus at Tel Aviv University, Israel.

   The Hans Freudenthal Award, for a major programme of research on mathematics education during the past 10 years

    2017 Hans Freudenthal Award: Prof. Terezinha Nunes (Female)

    Professor Terezinha Nunes, University of Oxford, UK.

    2019 Hans Freudenthal Award: Prof. Gert Schubring (Male)

    Institut für Didaktik der Mathematik at Bielefeld University, Germany, and an extended visiting professor at the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.

   The Emma Castelnuovo Award for Excellence in the Practice of Mathematics Education

    2020 Emma Castelnuovo Award:  The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) United States of America

    Dr. Trena L. Wilkerson (Female)

    Professor, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, President, 2020-2022

Lectures of Awardees

At the opening ceremony of ICME-14, the medals and certificates of these ICMI awards given during 2016-2020 will be presented. In addition, the awardees are invited to present special lectures at the Congress on July 14th. The titles and speakers are as follows.

Construction of Knowledge in Classrooms

Tommy Dreyfus   Awardee Lecture_Tommy Dreyfus.pdf

From Thinking in Action to Mathematical Models: A View From Developmental Psychology

Terezinha Nunes    Awardee Lecture_Terezinha Nunes.pdf

The Research Programme for History of Mathematics Teaching and Learning

Gert Schubring    Awardee Lecture_Gert Schubring.pdf

Advocating for High Quality Mathematical Access for Each and Every Child: Our Collective Work, Our Passion, and Our Future

Trena L. Wilkerson   Awardee Lecture_Trena Wilkerson.pdf